Gorging on Waterfalls

I mentioned yesterday that the Finger Lakes were formed during the last ice age and are thus quite young: a few tens of thousands of years. But they have company, in the form of a number of spectacular narrow gorges. The best known of these is Watkins Glen at the foot of Seneca Lake. It’s an insanely photogenic canyon, 400 ft (120 m) deep and about a mile and a half (2.5 km) long. If you walk the whole length — we did about half — you’ll go up and down something like 890 steps, and you’l see 19 waterfalls.

The geology of the gorges is interesting. They are sedimentary rock, a mix of shale, limestone, and sandstone. These differ a great deal in their hardness and thus their rates of erosion, resulting in a number of natural staircase-like rock formations.

That’s today’s geology lesson, so here are some photos from today’s hike:

Watkins Glen NY-045

Watkins Glen NY-030-Edit

Watkins Glen NY-012

Pretty cool, huh?

Categories: US Mainland | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 83 Comments

Post navigation

83 thoughts on “Gorging on Waterfalls

  1. BARBARA COOKE

    Love sharing your adventures

  2. Very very cool !!

  3. Beautiful!

  4. I’m ashamed to admit I’ve lived in NYS all my life, and have never taken advantage of the natural beauty of the Finger Lakes. I’m putting this to the top of my list. Great pictures.

  5. Reblogged this on maisysabredavid.

  6. Lovely post: great description and photos. I’ve been to Finger Lakes once on our way to the Falls. The natural staircase-like formation was awesome. Thanks for sharing.

  7. KathrinS

    Wow, beautiful! Some wonderful photos. I’ll definitely have to check this out when I’m back in the area.

    Kathrin — mycupofenglishtea.wordpress.com

  8. Really cool

  9. Woah… it must really be a refresh button to the system, a view as splendid as thatπŸ˜πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½

  10. My favorite place! Thanks for posting the wonderful photos. I need to return to the Finger Lakes region.

  11. This place looks amazing. I live near The Adirondacks. Can’t wait to visit this place.

  12. Very nice place! Beautiful photos. I have been many times to Niagara Falls – ON, but yet there are several other places to visit like this one you just posted!

  13. Reblogged this on BCSBook Reviews and News and commented:
    wonderful

  14. This is beautiful! Thanks for sharing this, we have The Great Thompson falls in my country Kenya. Its a 75m majestic descend. I love your work, do check out mine too at https://humanvoicesite.wordpress.com/2017/07/17/my-plea-to-you-fellow-kenyan/

  15. I love the waterfalls and they make me feel cooler just looking at them. But what I really like are seeing those elephants free and happy in their own habitats.

  16. Great πŸ‘πŸ‘

  17. Brooklyn's Corner

    The photos are breath taking.

  18. charlesmia

    Wow!!!

  19. These pictures are beautiful. Thanks for sharing them with us.

  20. Pingback: Gorging on Waterfalls β€” Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting – Orgnat Life Products

  21. Wow! Clearly you had a beautiful ‘muse’ to work with, but you also have gift! These pictures are amazing!

  22. Nice photo

  23. There is something similar called Chasm in New Zealand – on the way to Milford Sound . The rock formations are marvellous 😊 I must visit this one when I go to New York

    • Yes, NZ is full of wonderful sights like this. We took an overnight boat ride on Doubtful Sound and were awed by all the waterfalls along the cliffs.

      • That’s wonderful Rich and Alice. The waterfalls are simply stunning and I’m sure you had a great time. Thank you so much for reading my blog and leaving a feedback.

  24. Amazing! Love waterfalls. πŸ™‚

  25. Reblogged this on Jwls Mac Ray and commented:
    I love waterfalls!

  26. Writer

    Beautiful!

  27. Pretty incredible. Thanks for sharing.

  28. How lovely!

  29. Wow…..is very Good πŸ‘πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

  30. beautiful story and pics, tahnk you! Nature is so unique and wonderful. You have just to open your eyes, and you will discover. It can be just around the corner!

  31. hemavravi

    Please do visit my blog Hema’s litcafe , let i know your suggestions and comments and plz like and share ma posts.

  32. Sarah

    Beautiful pictures!

  33. [Post deleted]

  34. This is on my bucket list now! Thank you for sharing!

  35. Beautiful photos!!

  36. Lovely photos. I have added it on to my list places to visit.

  37. darkfighter88

    Oh wow!! They’re absolutely spectacular photos!

  38. Beautiful. Must visit one of these days.

  39. Whoa! Your pics of waterfall are incredible. Totally clear view of waterfall make me feel like heaven waterfall. 😱😍

  40. Just Gorgeous!!!

  41. Wow.lovely views

  42. So beautiful

  43. Mother nature might be cruel but it’s beauty is always astonishing.

  44. Pingback: Round and Round We Go | Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting

  45. Anonymous

    Really great pics!

  46. I’m adding this to my list of places but I love that you included it’s history. Seeing how amazing a place is and also having the story is so deeply satisfying.

  47. Pingback: Gorging on Waterfalls β€” Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting – wandasncredible

  48. Well done for the “Discover” nomination, Rich!

  49. lovelindamarie

    Amazing ❀️❀️❀️

  50. Great Photos! I think these waterfalls have now made my list! Only problem is the list just keeps getting longer…

  51. Pingback: Gorging on Waterfalls β€” Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting | softwebtech

  52. Reblogged this on .

  53. Looks beautiful!

  54. Beautiful photos! I probably only live two hours from Watkins Glen, I really need to see it in person.

  55. Pingback: Gorging on Waterfalls β€” Rich and Alice Go Globetrotting – efeufuoma

  56. Beautiful photos can’t wait to see more posts from you!

  57. Beautiful. Makes me want to visit!

  58. Thanks for sharing these beautiful images of an often over-looked region that has so much to offer travelers!

  59. Gorgeous place and great post!!! Love the photos

  60. How do you get featured on the wordpress discover page?

  61. Reblogged this on efeufuoma and commented:
    Very nice picture

Leave a Comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

